Identifying the Leaky Faucets in Your Life

These days my life has been busier then they have in a really long time.  I believe God gives you these moments of refuge and retreat because he knows the road ahead is going to be so bumpy.  In the process though I have learned a lot about myself and have come to appreciate the importance of being very selective about who I share information with.  Many of us especially as women, but men have this issue too can before we know it be guilty of being the leaky faucet in the relationships we possess.  However, I am realizing that when we are most vulnerable and in need of help we can often share information with people and reveal confidences under a misguided belief that everyone is on the same page.  We don’t assess that some people use your information to hurt you, not to help you.  Then others with information can try to help you, but in the end only hurt you. An important attribute I am learning in this journey we call life is to be selective about my communication and provide it on an as needed basis.  My father has taught me well that not everybody is on your side, and thus not everybody needs to know your business.

Sadly, many of us don’t even know when we are being used by Satan, and unfortunately, that means others of us have to be mindful of how we speak and to whom we speak.  Again, not everybody has your best interest at heart when they are in your business.  One scripture that constantly comes to my mind since I have been in my home town this week is

Be not deceived: evil communications corrupt good manners.

1Co 15:33

     So often people use your painful situation as their comic relief, making for sport your trials as the most recent gossip that they share with their friends, not realizing that loose lips sinks ships.  Forgetting that the seed they sow is the same one they reap.  Yet the contradiction of it all is the same people who feel so free to share your business, can be so abhorrent when it comes to theirs.  But in a society of hypocrisy this shouldn’t be surprising.   I say this with a heavy heart, but more then ever I realize that I am a child of Abraham, still looking for a city whose Builder and Maker is Yah and so thankful that I have no problems leaving my homeland to as far as I must go to get there.  Those courageous enough to let go of the dead weight that this system holds one captive to has truly been liberated to enter so freely into that space.  Guarding your conversation and to whom you speak I am finding is the best way to preserve a more simplistic lifestyle, and these days I am all about simplicity.

Leave a Reply

